I’m Alive!

Happy Holidays, New Year, and any other important event! I’m so so sorry that 1960 hasn’t gone up yet. That’s due to an overload of happiness toward the UMK line-up and participating in various fan contests. I’m actually in two currently, and would like to document my progress.

1) Asian American Song Festival (ASAM)

Participations: 2
Country: Iran
Songs:

Finish: 1st with 138 points.

Finish: 22nd with 63 points.

I’ve been most successful here, mainly because I got to send a Swede through a loophole. And won! ๐Ÿ˜› Anyhow, this contest is truly diverse, offering up interesting finds from all over the globe… save most of Europe and Africa. Here’s my favorite song I’ve found through this contest.

2) Eurovision Fan Contest (EFC)

Participations: 2
Country: Poland
Songs:

Finish: 18th in semi-final with 18 points.

Finish: 20th in semi-final with 15 points.

So the first participation was in a special edition where Eurovision songs were the pawns in the game. I’d originally tried to send Poland’s sublime 1997 entry but there was a rule stating that songs had to be performed after 2000. So, rolling my eyes, I sent the less good but still nice 2003 entry. Both times, I bombed out in the semis. With Ich Troje, I finished 18th out of 20 and I don’t know quite yet how well Kaisa did. I’m hoping she’ll improve… and go to ESC, but that’s a whole other fish to fry. (UPDATE: Daaaaaaamn, these people are cold.) Actually, most songs here are repeats from other contests or just super successful commercial things, so there’s not much new here.

So that’s really it. I’m looking forward to creating loopholes to get these beautiful people into a contest somehow. Until 1960, I leave you with wonderfulness.

UPDATE (2/2/14): Here is my new entry for ASAM.

After some demure female ballads, something a little kooky and fun sounded great. And for EFC, well, things have gone pretty well. So I contacted the contest administrator after the last edition and he said that it would be fine for me to play as Scotland. Without hesitating, I cobbled together a CHVRCHES playlist and tried to pick one song. But I couldn’t. So now I’m trying to hold a national final but I’m having insane copyright issues, so I reuploaded it in two different placed but he hasn’t responded to me yet so I’m sort of lost as to what to do. I’m testing out Vimeo link to bypass YouTube here. This, if you can see it, is A Song for CHVRCHES.

Peace,

-Nick

Posted in Uncategorized
73 comments on “I’m Alive!
  1. Patrick P. says:

    Psst. It looks like we’re semi buddies for the first time.

    • Nick P. says:

      Finally! Now our Lithuania-Georgia affair can extend to the semi-finals as well. ๐Ÿ˜›

      • Patrick P. says:

        The use of “affair” makes it sound so scandalous. ๐Ÿ˜› But let the affair continue!

        • Nick P. says:

          Excellent! Something my word choice hasn’t been since yesterday. ๐Ÿ˜‰

          P.S. Could you please test the national final link for me? It’s been bugging me all day.

          • Patrick P. says:

            The link on the national finals headline on the ASAM website? It works fine, but nobody has posted a nf there since the 24th edition.

          • Patrick P. says:

            Oh, that national final link. Yeah, it’s blocked on copyright issues.

            • Nick P. says:

              Great. *eye roll* Thanks for your help. ๐Ÿ™‚

            • Nick P. says:

              Would you mind trying the new Vimeo link?

              • Patrick P. says:

                Vimeo works fine.

              • Nick P. says:

                Yay! Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ Just curious, what do you think of the songs?

              • Patrick P. says:

                For me, the first and fifth songs are the best, with the first being my favorite song from the band.

                I should like CHVRCHES more than I do. They hit all the right buttons, and I think they have quality music, but for some reason I just don’t connect. Maybe I just haven’t listened to them enough. It’s quite a possibility.

              • Nick P. says:

                Have you listened to the whole album? The album cuts are a little less aggressive than the singles, sort of like “Now Is Not The Time” (so underrated in their catalogue, imo). Personally, you’d probably like “Tether” or “We Sink” more. They’re not as frantic. ๐Ÿ™‚

              • Patrick P. says:

                I really liked “We Sink” for its melody, and I’m a sucker for good harmonies. It took me a little longer to get into “Tether” but that’s likely because it starts slowly and I’m doing homework at the same time as I’m doing these messages. Once I got into it, it had me hooked.

                So the answer to your original question is, of course, no, I hadn’t listened to the whole album. I still think “Now is Not the Time” is probably my favorite of their library.

              • Nick P. says:

                ๐Ÿ˜€ Thrilled. The album’s really strong. The one song I don’t care for is “You Caught The Light.” It sounds like a really high-quality extended mix of a Belorussian NF Ballad. Everything else is wonderful.

    • Nick P. says:

      The Malaysian entry is my drug. Considering she got famous in Belgium, I hope she tries for Eurosong. That audition would be INSANE.

      • Patrick P. says:

        I’d say our semifinal was underwhelming, overall. Just five or so songs that I really liked. A couple more that I could find merits in, and then… the rest.

        • Nick P. says:

          Total agreement, except my “liked” figure is only 4 (with my own entry!), and the tolerance number only extends to my 3 pointer. A very boring semi, probably the most boring one I’ve been a part of. Even in the more dance-y contests, at least the entries were very love/hate. It’s just so meh here.

          • Patrick P. says:

            Which makes it no surprise that you didn’t qualify, sadly. I’ve learned that when in boring semis like that, the quirky/fun entries are doomed. Bad luck of the draw, although I’m thinking about emailing Jon with a case against letting anybody but the winner of the previous edition vote in both semis.

            • Nick P. says:

              Honestly, I’m okay with it. Mainly because it ensures that this will be my next entry for a different country (Greenland). ๐Ÿ˜‰

              Being Iran was interesting and the small insight into the country’s pop culture was interesting, but I’d end up spending four to five hours searching in vain for an entry. Thank god “Aroosak” landed in my lap last time but this time, I was just settling because I was tired of searching. Greenland/The Danish Realm should be far easier.

            • Nick P. says:

              Also, congratulations to you for qualifying! Aside from “Suerte” my other two top three songs failed. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

              • Patrick P. says:

                Malaysia and who?
                Vietnam?

                Honestly, Vietnam is the only country besides yours that I will miss in the final.

                I’m lucky to have gotten and held on to a country with quite a large music market, but after 30 editions, I’m already having to search. By going through the artist profiles and clicking randomly on songs in the suggested bar, I’ve built up quite a repertoire of songs I like from other Latin American countries, but I’ve pretty much exhausted my Mexican repertoire. That being said, I’m holding onto the country like a leech because I’ve had it since edition one. It’s MY country. ๐Ÿ˜›

              • Nick P. says:

                (Don’t laugh) It was Azerbaijan in semi 1. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I have no idea why I like that song so much. It’s definitely not because of the performer. From our semi, I’m going to miss El Salvador and Vietnam but that’s it. Not that there’s much to savor, in terms of qualifiers.

                As my history shows, I’m pretty transient. In my first contest, I ditched Malta for the same reason I’m ditching Iran. Then I was the Faroe Islands and got kicked out for not qualifying. Honestly, I could’ve gone far with Poland in EFC, but since the admin let Hawaii and Gibraltar play, I wanted to sink my teeth into Scotland. I think I’ll be there for a while, same with Greenland here. And I promise I’ll try and find native songs first before going to Denmark. I think I’ll start cultivating my own Mexico with these two (or three, I’m looking to grovel to get back into YE). ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Patrick P. says:

    Somehow, I always seem to get the bad draw in ASAM, but it works out well for me.

    ASAM 4 – I draw first in the running order, place first
    (ASAM 5- draw 10th, place first. Just putting it in because it’s my other victory)
    ASAM 6 – I draw first in the running order again, place 6th
    ASAM 8 – I draw second in the running order, place 5th
    ASAM 15 – I draw fifth in the running order, place 4th
    ASAM 16 – I draw fourth in the running order, place 10th
    ASAM 17 – I draw second in the semi-final, place 14th in the semi (the exception)
    ASAM 19 – I draw fourth in the running order, place 19th
    ASAM 23 – I draw second in the semi-final, place 5th in the semi
    ASAM 27 – I draw first in the semi-final, place 5th in the semi
    ASAM 28 – I draw fourth in the final, place 15th
    ASAM 29 – I draw first in the semi-final, place unknown

    I guess my point with this is “Look how often I get drawn in the first five spots, seven of the eleven times I’ve been in the first five spots, I’ve been in the first two. Mexico opens the show a lot. I’m almost as bad as Montenegro.

    • Nick P. says:

      If you were like Montenegro, you’d fail much more often. You sound more like the UK of yesteryear, that did will from any position. ๐Ÿ™‚

      As far as running order goes, I have a lucky number; 5. In my first contest ever, I played as Malta and was drawn fifth. That was the first of only two qualifications I ever earned. Then I enter ASAM, qualify (from position 10) and win from, where else, fifth. Other positions I’ve had have been pretty bad.

      Your Eurovision October (Malta) – Drew 19th in the final, finish 19th with 67 points.
      Your Eurovision November (Faroe Islands) – Drew 22nd and last in the first semi-final, finish 20th with 18 points.
      ASAM 28 – Drew 8th in the final, finish 22nd with 63 points.
      EFC Eurovision Tribute Christmas Edition (Poland 2003) – Drew 3rd in the semi final, finished 18th with 18 points.
      EFC January – Drew 7th in the semi, finished 20th with, quelle surprise, 18 points.

      • Patrick P. says:

        There’s about 18 points worth of people that really like your songs. ๐Ÿ˜›

        By the by, another contest I’m in is doing a special edition of songs from 1990-2005, and I really want to snatch France, so I can send a song by RoBERT, but I’m stuck between two. I’ll probably end up sending “Nickel”:

        But I also really want to send “Princess de rien”:

        • Nick P. says:

          It’s so convenient. Also, I could be wrong, but I think the breakdown has always been four countries contributing the 18 points. It’s weird. I wonder if that’ll continue, either in EFC or ASAM, ๐Ÿ˜‰

          Personally, I’d go with “Nickel,” as “Princess de rien” seems a little to out there, especially for a contest. Both are good, though. France has you spoilt for choice. ๐Ÿ™‚

          • Patrick P. says:

            Yeah, I’m probably going to go with “Nickel.” I think it has better chances of success, although I expect this edition will just be a nostalgia contest, and I’ll still come near the bottom.

            The thing is that the contest is first-come-first-serve, which means that all the countries are open every edition. If somebody beats me to France, then I don’t get it. And I’ll be screwed, as this is an edition that celebrates a period with music I usually hate.

            • Nick P. says:

              I’d tell you to be positive, but then here I am assuming I’ll die in the ASAM semi-final. ๐Ÿ˜›

              Just go with it. It should (keyword) be appreciated. Is there a relegation system?

              • Patrick P. says:

                I’m taking the fact that only you liked my video and another commented positively as a bad sign too. So it’s not like you’re the only one… but we sure do have a lot of autotune in our semi. Ugh.

                Like for players? No, not really. We’ve reached max players, as the person running it doesn’t want semi-finals, and new people are only let in when a person either a) doesn’t return or b) says s/he won’t be returning.

              • Nick P. says:

                Am I the fairy of death now? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Granted, my 12 points seem to always land on the right side of the scoreboard, so maybe that’s not such an incorrect label.

                I haven’t listened to the semi yet. I’ve been catching up with all the NFs I’ve missed. Only Hungary’s second heat and Moldova to go!

                Okay. Then you really don’t have anything to lose. Good luck! ๐Ÿ™‚

              • Patrick P. says:

                That was more about the lack of “likes” than about who liked. ๐Ÿ˜›

                If you can find full live performances of the Hungarian heats, please link them to me. I would love to see the performances.

              • Nick P. says:

                Here are the instructions for Hungary:

                1) Go here. http://www.mediaklikk.hu/m1
                2) Where there’s the magnifying glass, click it and type in the exact name of the song. You can copy and paste from my spreadsheet on my Gravatar.
                3) Look for the search result that only says the artist and song title.
                4) Open that page and click on the little picture with a play button on it. That’s the performance from the live show.

                Good luck! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Patrick P. says:

    Melanie Martinez JUST released this.
    Why can’t she be of Mexican descent? T_T Damn it.

    Frankly, I’m happy that Azerbaijan didn’t qualify because ASAM is the only contest I know of where the standard Azerbaijani contest attempts fail, and it makes me so happy (because they are all bad or subpar). But I thought you were talking about just our semi, so I never would have guessed it anyway, although I do seem to remember you saying that you liked that song.

    • Nick P. says:

      Please tell me her decent so I can scoop up that country faster than anyone ever thought. Not just here but anywhere. This must be spread to the masses, even if it might be wasted on them. ๐Ÿ˜›

      From my experience, the only time Azerbaijan is successful is the actual contest. “Never Enough” finished in the lower 10s in one contest in which I was playing. Other times, they’ve just totally failed to qualify. The one Azeri artist I’ve seen garner success in a fan contest was Nikki Jamal on her cover of “Universe” with Karen Viuff from DMGP 2012. No surprise that it’s schalger that takes them to the top. *eye roll*

      • Patrick P. says:

        She’s of mixed Puerto Rican/Dominican descent. It pains me that I can’t send her in ASAM. It pains me so much.

        There was once a time when sending Safura for Azerbaijan was a guaranteer of a place in the top 5, no matter the song. There was even one song (I can’t remember the name) that was a guaranteed winner, and it really turned me off of Azerbaijan in the fan contests because it was just a cheap way to win. It also bothers me that I’ve only seen Azerbaijan have their non-ESC-related artists compete once. It’s just… sad. Worse than Azerbaijan in ESC, almost.

        • Nick P. says:

          Guess which country that borders Haiti is free? ๐Ÿ˜‰ I think I’ll e-mail Jon with a change request and put you down as a co-HoD. Not right now though, because I’m working on a surprise…

          That’s actually hilarious because when I mentioned that Azerbaijan had failed to qualify, it was with a Safura song! Let’s hope this tumble of fan contest fortune extends to the actual show. ๐Ÿ™‚

          • Patrick P. says:

            A surprise! O:

            Yeah, I think most of the contest circle got sick of her because it was impossible to have a contest without her, and it soured my disposition towards Azerbaijan in ESC. A lot. But there are still places Azerbaijan does well, just not nearly as widespread.

            • Nick P. says:

              Hopefully it’ll be ready tomorrow! I was debating between doing this and starting my own fan contest, but in the end, I decided to do this because it’ll be something really different for the fan community and it’s a bit easier for me. Here’s a hint, it won’t take place here, but where it ends up won’t be a surprise (probably). ๐Ÿ˜‰

              I’ll keep my eyes peeled for an Azeri success story on the contest front. ๐Ÿ˜›

              • Patrick P. says:

                Hahaha. Okay. I’ll keep a lookout tomorrow.

                Looking at some of the entries that didn’t make in the first semi, I’m beginning to wonder if I’ve built a kind of reputation that helps me get votes from enough people to qualify. I don’t think that the semi-final one non-qualifiers are that bad (and by that, I mean that I like most of them or at least see merits in them), as opposed to most of semi-final 2.

                I wonder how I’ll score this time. I’m guessing mid-table.

              • Nick P. says:

                Fingers crossed! ๐Ÿ™‚

                I need to make myself listen to those. I’ve not yet.

                Well, you’ve got high points from me, that’s for sure. ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. Patrick P. says:

    In case you were wondering, my performances of “Taken by a Stranger” and “Dollhouse” went well yesterday. Afterwards, at least three people told me they were going to download “Dollhouse,” so if nothing else, I did my promotion last night.

    But I felt more comfortable this year than I did two years ago, when I did this last. Part of it may have had to do with the fake hips I was able to make this time. They made me far happier than foam ever should.

    • Nick P. says:

      No love for Lena? ๐Ÿ˜› That’s great for everyone involved; you did a wonderful job, three people were introduced to a stellar song, and Melanie got some free promo. Sounds like a perfect show, to me.

      I seem to recall you talking about doing this show last year with Tetyana Shyrko’s sexy-secretary song, no? Anyway, it’s great that you were able to feel more comfortable, with or without foam. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Patrick P. says:

        I know one person mentioned he was downloading both songs, and maybe a second person wanted both, but Melanie’s song was definitely more popular.

        I was going to do the sexy-secretary song, but I had to pull out for financial reasons, which upset me because I REALLY, REALLY wanted to do it. I even searched high and low for an mp3 of the song, which I eventually found in some Russian-language website.

        • Nick P. says:

          Well, at least either choice they made was good. And that’s really unfortunate. After pushing your anti-virus software to the limits to find the mp3, it ended up falling through. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  5. Patrick P. says:

    Well, crap.
    We’re in different semis.

    • Patrick P. says:

      Even bigger crap.
      I’m not in the finals.

      • Nick P. says:

        ๐Ÿ˜ฎ That’s a shame, as I quite liked your song. Maybe it wasn’t too instant? I haven’t listened to all the songs from semi 2, but you would’ve gotten seven points from me if you were in my semi, possibly more.

        • Nick P. says:

          …That’s not supposed to be a happy emoticon.

        • Patrick P. says:

          Well, I didn’t want to send a huge competitor this time because I didn’t want to take away from the glory of your win (and I didn’t have one anyway). I thought I’d probably make the finals though.

          Also, Mahan, Propaganda, and Emmelie making the finals…

          • Nick P. says:

            Oh… thanks. :/ Do you really think I have such a good chance? And you really should’ve qualified, honest.

            Yeah, that’s a bad thing. Emmelie is probably the least of those evils, though. Last night, I thought Propaganda were the Indonesian band for some reason, so I wasn’t sure if I voted for them or not. Then I saw they were the atrocious Georgian rep and felt nice.

            BTW, Austria’s song is being presented sometime within the hour on this livestream, if you’d like to follow along. ๐Ÿ™‚
            http://ms01.oe3.fm/oe3metafiles/Player/Player.html

            • Patrick P. says:

              I think that it is accessible enough to do well and alternative enough to get votes there too. I think that it should be in the top 10, easily.

              I knew that Emmelie was going to go through, but I thought there was a chance that Mahan and Propaganda would stay in the semi. I think we’ve gotten invaded by some of the normal contest participants, and it’s hurting me.

              Following.

              As for my song, it probably was too calm. Calm songs tend not to do well.

            • Patrick P. says:

              Something I thought about today. ASAM may be getting invaded by some of the regular contest people, but it’s still better than most of the online contests around.

              By the way, I think the ESC-season contests tend to be weaker because they people aren’t paying as much attention to outside music. So hopefully, it’ll go back up after April/May.

              • Nick P. says:

                Yeah and, if anything else, it’s at least more original. I was listening to songs in my semi for my other contest and I’d reviewed almost five already since they’d been in other contests. At least everything is normally new.

                And that’s probably correct, hence the reason we got de Forest, “Aleo,” and an Eldar dance track. *shudder* I can’t wait for the golden season to begin. ๐Ÿ˜›

              • Patrick P. says:

                ASAM is very important to me because it’s a reminder that ET isn’t a bubble and that other people have views outside of the dance-pop and cheap ballads.

                I mean, this is the contest where I got a top 10 result with Evelyn Evelyn, a song that I was sure would flop:

              • Nick P. says:

                Totally agree. It’s such a refreshing thing to see alternative stuff being appreciated.

                And that song almost certainly deserved first. I don’t know nor care what else was in that contest, this song is absolutely stunning.

              • Patrick P. says:

                I sent that song during my reign as arguably the best country in ASAM (Editions 4-16). So I thought I wouldn’t be upset if I did badly. Considering I expected it to die, I was very happy with its place. (This was before I recognized ASAM as better than most contests)

              • Nick P. says:

                Ooh, now I have another contest’s history to examine. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Sounds interesting to be the “reigning power” over a contest.

                I’d love to be pleasantly surprised like that. Hopefully my entry for EFC does that. ๐Ÿ˜›

              • Patrick P. says:

                Since I don’t follow EFC, what is the entry?

              • Nick P. says:

                This. ๐Ÿ™‚

              • Patrick P. says:

                Oh yes, your CHVRCHES national final.

              • Nick P. says:

                The one that was a total failure since the mod never put it on the website. :p I just picked my personal favorite.

              • Patrick P. says:

                Hahaha.

                Sounds like a reliable mod. ๐Ÿ˜›

              • Nick P. says:

                It annoyed me vastly. I spent a day trying to get it online (after spending a day making it), I sent him the Vimeo link and got no response. Finally, he just asked me what song I was sending, so I gave him one. Granted, I don’t know his circumstances, but some sort of notification would’ve been nice. I checked the website almost every day to see if it was updated but I saw nothing.

  6. Patrick P. says:

    Psst. I have a question.

What are your words?

If you love the word "words" as much as I do, please, don't hesitate to get my words delivered to your inbox. :)

Join 30 other followers

Library
Different Types of Words

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

That Screaming EMAC Kid

(a.k.a. nick's storytelling blog!)

Eurovision Lemurs

A Eurovision blog with an American perspective

BroBible

Redefining Bro Culture with Lifestyle, Sports and Culture News for Millennials

Uncover Travel

Uncover Travel | Bucket list adventures across the globe with vacation itineraries, sightseeing tours, hotel and restaurant recommendations.

