The Soundtrack of My Life (like eff it is!)

It’s 1:30 in the morning and I’m enjoying my iTunes library too much to go back to ESC 1997, so why not do this little distraction? I found it browsing Annika’s blog here. Here are the rules.

1. Open your library (iTunes, Media Player, iPod, etc)

2. Put it on shuffle

3. Press play

4. For every question, type the song that’s playing

5. When you go to a new question, press the next button

6. Don’t lie and try to pretend you’re cool…and don’t cheat! (I couldn’t even pretend)

Let’s go!

 

Opening Credits: “The Social Network Song” – Valentina Monetta

I’m ashamed for having this at all. xD This is so freaking cheesy, I can’t even… Maybe this’ll be a movie about a developing Facebook obsession or how my life was ruined by a cyber-stalker. Hopefully things get better.

 

Waking Up: “Czekam” – Kaisa Gomoła

Am I waking up after a suicide attempt? What a depressing way to start the day. I still love this song, though.

 

First Day of School: “La La Love” – Ivi Adamou

This is so totally random.

 

Falling in Love: “Vanilla Twilight” – Owl City

These matches are terrible! 😛 Have I now fallen in love with a specter of a past crush?

 

Fight Song: “Better News” – Lena

The first thing to make some semblance of sense. I might fight for all the things she’s talking about, so yeah, this works. Kind of.

 

Prom: “Rejs dig op” – Louise Dubiel

The chorus goes “you shall dance in the rain and never get tired of it” so I guess there’s another partial match here. Love this song, though; such a fun sing-along thing.

 

Life: “Sailboats” – Sky Sailing (Owl City)

I hadn’t heard this song in a long time, but I’m glad to hear it again, although not in this context. Lol. It sounds like he’s talking about going to heaven so I’m a little concerned about that message. At least it’s simple and vivid, things I’d like my life to be.

 

Mental Breakdown: “If It’s Love” – Train

Couldn’t this have been played three songs ago? Well, as an Aquarius, I’m destined to always push people who try to get close away, so it relates that way, I guess? I don’t know, I’ve given up hope on this experiment.

 

Driving: “Bleeding Love” – Leona Lewis

I officially hate my iTunes library. I don’t drive but a radio ballad makes sense. Random thought: maybe she’ll do Eurovision?

 

Flashback: “What the Hell?” – Avril Lavigne

This actually makes perfect sense in the chorus. “All my life I’ve been good, but now, I’m thinking ‘What the hell?,’” is probably how I’ll reflect on my teenage years, spent at home watching TV and reading blogs/news. Still depressing, though.

 

Getting Back Together: “Hello Goodbye” – (oh god, have mercy on me) Glee Cast

It’s the exact opposite, of course. Nice reminder to delete this song, though.

 

Wedding: “Scream” – Usher

Skip the ceremony and straight to the honeymoon, I see. (!) This sucks. :p

 

Birth of Child: “Animal” – Neon Trees

It’s not perfect for the moment but for the process of child rearing, it makes some sense, maybe. Better than the last two, though.

 

Final Battle: “You Found Me” – The Fray

Alright, what the eff is this trying to tell me?! I’m going to die on a street corner and find God in my last moments?

 

Death Scene: “My Same” – Lena

One hundred percent random! Love this cover, at least.

 

Funeral Song: “Unbreakable” – Sinplus

The total opposites in this list are sooooo annoying. Well, maybe not, in this case. I actually know the song I want at my real funeral, so I’ll give you both.

 

End Credits: “Firework” – Katy Perry

This makes total sense on two levels. First, it actually marks the end of one chapter of my life, so it works that way. Secondly, it reminds people that no matter how screwed up and crazy their lives are, it’ll never be as freaking psycho as this. So, perfect ending. 🙂

 

Just FYI, the next song was “Allez, ola, olé” by Jessy Matador. Of course after I’m dead and gone, everyone has a party! Figures.

 

Well, what a waste of 25 minutes. Jk, this was a fun little peek into my music library and I still got a post out of it. Smiles all around. ESC 1997 in a few days. Sleep in a few minutes.

Peace,

-Nick

Posted in Personal Stuff, Random, Writings
5 comments on “The Soundtrack of My Life (like eff it is!)
  1. Patrick P. says:

    I always enjoy doing and reading these things. They provide a slight distraction to your day. Here was me doing it this time:

    1. Opening Credits: “Ou aller” – Marie Line
    Well, that’s a depressing way to open up this movie about me. I mean: “You don’t have somewhere to go./You don’t even know where to go.” Thanks…

    2. Waking Up: “Stay” – Tooji
    There’s a weird theme building in the first two songs about remaining in an area. I’m not sure how I feel about that. As for waking up to this. Well, it’s as obnoxious as an alarm clock.

    3. First Day of School: “The Only Things on My Mind Are Tacos and You” – Olivia Millerschin
    (Well, all of a sudden, I’ve “traveled everywhere from Detroit to Rome.” This movie/life needs some editing, clearly.) I feel like this song is a bit too sentimental for going to the first day of school. I mean, “You’re my favorite memory that I can think”?

    4. Falling in Love: “Echo (You and I)” – Anggun
    Not my first choice, but at least it’s a plausible song here. Also, the last two verses in French totally sounds like how most of my “falling in love” scenarios go.

    5. Fight Song: “The Social Network Song (Oh Oh Uh Oh Oh)” – Valentina Monetta
    I win, right? Nobody can fight against this song, right?

    6. Prom: “Eyes that Never Life” – Petr Elfimov
    Well, if prom has to play Belarus 2009, so be it. Otherwise, the song just doesn’t make sense to play in this context.

    7. Life: “This is the Night” – Kurt Kalleja
    I’m not sure how to take it. There are suggestions that Kurt islooking for another chance in this song, and if that’s the case, bringing back the lack of progress suggested by “Ou Aller” and “Stay”… I am not happy about where my life is going. This story needs a rewrite.

    8. Mental Breakdown: “Asì es la Vida” – Reyli ft. Joan Sebastian
    Well… fuck. I’ll just transcribe some of the translation here: “that you don’t want more of me/(that) you’re gone away with a poor devil/who cares ( come on, come on ) who cares/(that) the depression will kill me/and I’m gonna live into alcoholism/who cares (come on, come on ) who cares/( that ) you left without saying good bye/(that ) you won’t sleep on my mattress anymore/who cares (come on, come on ) who cares/you tarnished my reputation/and you don’t give a shit my love/who cares (come on, come on ) who cares.” I think you can understand why this scary to get here.

    9. Driving: “Ribbons” – Ingrid Michaelson
    I have a feeling that this song would cause me to speed up a bit while driving, as it builds.

    10. Flashback: “Ku je ti” – Andos
    This is interesting because it’s reflective without giving a clear indication about whether the flashback this would go with would be positive or negative. Maybe something that I’d be angry about.

    11. Getting Back Together: “Kuula” – Ott Lepland
    “Just listen to this simple moments/Listen – the heart too has a voice.” “I wait for you here, halfway there/Listen to my voice calling you.”
    Well then.

    12. Wedding: “Lose Control” – Waldo’s People
    …Way to ruin my wedding, song randomizer.

    13. Birth of Child: “Më duaj” – Ingrit Gjoni
    …Way to ruin the miracle of childbirth, song randomizer.

    14. Final Battle: “Kedvesem” – ByeAlex
    This is the opposite of music that should be playing during the final battle, unless my final battle is me trying to convince a beloved not to leave me or something similar. Basically, to make this song remotely fit, the person I’m battling has to be somebody that I still love.

    15. Death Scene: “Melody Dean” – Amanda Palmer
    I honestly don’t know what to say about this.

    16. Funeral Scene: “Say It Is” – Marts Kristiāns Kalniņš & Melo-M
    I feel like the randomizer is just fucking with me at this point. I would get an epic string solo at my funeral though.

    17. Ending Credits: “What About My Dreams” – Kati Wolf
    Again with the theme of not fulfilling my dreams and being stuck behind and trying to break out of a cage that seems to have been erected around me. I really don’t like what this soundtrack implies about my life.

  2. togravus says:

    I did it too … but except for 3 or 4 songs I am totally confused:

    1. Opening Credits: “Portugal no coração” – Os amigos (Portugal)
    2. Waking Up: “Come Back to Stay” – Dicky Rock (Ireland)
    3. First day at school: “Die Schlampen sind müde” – Rosenstolz (Germany)
    4. Falling in Love: “The Rest of Life” – The Idan Project (Israel)
    5. Fight Song: “”Quando julgas que me amas” – Cristina Branco (Portugal)
    6. Prom: “Tell Me!” – Einar Águst & Telma (Iceland)
    7. Life: “Čučemo, čućete!” – Ognjen i Prijutelji (Serbia)
    8. Mental Breakdown: “Kotsatos tsabounas apiranthou” – Irini Konitopoulou-Legaki (Greece)
    9. Driving: “7 dní” – Komajota (Slovakia)
    10. Flashback: “Ghir enta” – Souad Massi (Algeria)
    11. Getting Back Together: “I pirati a Palermu” – Etta Scollo (Italy) – am I a pirate’s bride???
    12. Wedding: “Ole ole” Izhar Cohen (Israel) – that one is perfect for my wedding 🙂
    13. Birth of Child: “So Lucky” – Zdob şi Zdub (Moldova) – if I wanted to become a father, this one would be a very obvious choice …
    14. Final Battle: “Uma caixa de pé” – Dulce Pontes (Portugal)
    15. Death Scene: “La fiesta terminó” – Paloma San Basilio (Spain) – this one is perfect
    16. Funeral Song: “Banjo Laura” – Lauris Reiniks (Latvia) – now things start to make sense because I want people to have a party at my funeral … as long as they dance, I do not care if the song they dance to is a bit silly … 🙂
    17. End Credits: “Ode to Boy” – Yazoo (UK)

  3. togravus says:

    I simply post this one here because it is so fantastic … and it is with live orchestra too. 🙂

  4. Jaz says:

    Hello hello hello Nicholas! I don’t know if you remember me but I used to blog about Eurovision, once upon a time…

    Just letting you know that I’m not dead, and even though this is post of yours from a few weeks back, I was perusing ye olde blog whilst writing a post for mine (!!!) and I couldn’t not try this. Some of my results were so ridiculous I had to comment.

    The Opening Credits – Return of the Mack by Mark Morrison
    This would make the movie sound like it was set in a ghetto.

    Waking Up – Flying The Flag (For You) by Scooch
    I guess this is a good one for getting out of bed to…although it would probably just remind me that I’m getting up to another day of not being in Europe.

    First Day of School – Believe Me by Fort Minor
    Umm…okay. A strange but not totally random choice, iTunes.

    Falling In Love – I Love You by 2NE1
    Hashtag appropriate! I may be falling in love with the song actually. It is an epic song.

    Fight Song – Click Clack by Ralf
    Who am I fighting, Barney the Dinosaur? As Comic Book Guy would say, worst. Fight song. Ever.

    Prom – The Final Countdown by Europe
    Now THIS is a fight song. Shame I’d be dancing to it at prom.

    Life – Oh Oh by Guy Sebastian
    My life is not this fun. Plus, this song is about a girl who’s pretty but dumb.

    Mental Breakdown – No No by Lerika
    Well, I wouldn’t want to have an MB, so I guess ‘No nooo!’ is appropriate.

    Driving – Blue (Da Ba Dee) by Eiffel 65
    Oh yeah. My windows would be down, and this jam would be pumping out of my rather crappy sound system.

    Flashback – Looking Hot by No Doubt
    Looking back to the days of youth when I was better looking?

    Getting Back Together – Wide Awake by Katy Perry
    I so wanted this to be We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together, but I’ll settle for Katy Perry.

    Wedding – F*** You by Lily Allen
    This really happened. It seems I’m marrying someone I’m not overly fond of. Either that or mother got drunk and took all the attention off me.

    Birth of Child – Divine by Sébastien Tellier
    If I was totally out of it on drugs and tripping out then this would make sense.

    Final Battle – Du Bist by Tie Break
    Again, a lame-as fight song. The fight would have to be in slow motion.

    Death Scene – Mmm Bop by Hanson
    Again, this genuinely came up. I guess in this context, the message is ‘life is fleeting’ rather than ‘friendship is fleeting’.

    Funeral Song – Small Bump by Ed Sheeran
    Sad! But in a weird kind of way.

    End Credits – ! (The Song Formerly Known As) by Regurgitator
    Ending on a high, woohoo! If not a bit off-kilter considering my funeral just took place. Like you, I think my death = PARTAY TIME for my family and friends.

    Sooo I don’t know if you will see this but if you do, I promise I will start posting comments better than this one on your blog ASAP. I love your contest analysis posts. The detail is worth a gold star. Four for you, Glen Coco.

    • Nick P. says:

      You mean the history books haven’t claimed you as theirs yet?! Fantastic! 😛 Nice to see you here, btw.

      It’s just so easy to do this. Can’t wait to see your post. 🙂

      LOL. I think you got some of the worst misses. Specifically, getting “Small Bump,” a song about a miscarrige, for Funeral Song is one of the darkest things I’ve seen in a long while.

      WordPress notifications are a treasure. Can’t wait for those either. Thanks so so so SO much for the gold star. 😀 And for the “Mean Girls” reference. It totally made my day. 🙂

What are your words?

If you love the word "words" as much as I do, please, don't hesitate to get my words delivered to your inbox. :)

Join 30 other followers

Library
Different Types of Words

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

That Screaming EMAC Kid

(a.k.a. nick's storytelling blog!)

Eurovision Lemurs

A Eurovision blog with an American perspective

BroBible

Redefining Bro Culture with Lifestyle, Sports and Culture News for Millennials

Uncover Travel

Uncover Travel | Bucket list adventures across the globe with vacation itineraries, sightseeing tours, hotel and restaurant recommendations.

