Catching Up Ain’t Easy: A Backlog of the 30 Day Eurovision Challenge

“In the past few days, I’ve really gotten into blogging and whatnot. So, why not do it more frequently? So, I’m kicking off with the second musical medley.”

Yeah, I wrote that on 10 April. Sorry, I just got really busy with school and sickness and just life in general. So, I have quite a bit of catching up to do with my 30 Day Eurovision Challenge. As such, I’ve decided to postpone that Musical Medley in favor of getting back into the swing of Euro-things. *groan*

The Euro-Challenge: Days 10-20

This was intended to go along with the first post of the challenge. That obviously didn’t happen.

Alright, here’s the next crop of 30-Day Eurovision Challenges.

  1. An entry that you liked at first but don’t anymore.
  2. An entry, in a language you don’t know, that you can sing along to.
  3. Your favorite entry of all time.
  4. Your least favorite entry of all time.
  5. Favorite Irish entry.
  6. Favorite British entry.
  7. Favorite Spanish entry.
  8. La chanson favorite de la France. (Favorite French entry)
  9. Favorite German entry.
  10. Favorite Italian entry.
  11. Favorite non-qualifier.

Day 10: Alexey Vorobyov – “Get You” (Russia 2011)

When this was announced, I couldn’t get enough of it. It was, in my mind, dancey, fun, current and quality. It got to the point where I thought that it could win the whole shebang that year. Now, I can’t believe this even flirted with my top 10. Sure, it’s pretty well-built, but it’s just so dated and, well, boring. Unless you want some mid-2000’s pop fodder nostalgia, just skip the video link below.

Day 11: Who See feat. Nina Žižić – “Igranka” (Montenegro 2013)

Ooh, real dubstep! Me likey. This is 2013’s real divisive entry, as it’s a) an uncommon Eurovision genre, b) hard to stage and c) in Montenegrin! That latter part is what qualifies it for this accolade (how official, not), since the “Vodim te na igranku. Na-na-na-na igranku” is probably ingrained in my memory forever till the end of time (see what I did there?). Hopefully they do well. J

Day 12: Euroband – “This Is My Life” (Iceland 2008)

Ah, the pitfalls of being a new, busy Eurovision fan. I’m only sure about things until 2008, and so I’m sure that this is my favorite entry of the past six years. However, I won’t bore you with the same (amazing) song. Oh no I won’t, as Euroband has done a spate of great remixes of Eurovision classics. Here’s the one of Eurovision 1988 winner “Ne partez pas sans moi” by the now famous Céline Dion. Not only is the only video I can find, it’s also my favorite of the lot. Enjoy.

Day 13: Rodolfo Chikilicuatre – “Balia el Chiki Chiki” (Spain 2008)

Year Belgrade was an example of heaven and hell, i.e. Serbia and Estonia, Portugal and Ireland, Iceland and Spain. Yes, the wonder of my favorite entry just had to be offset by this nonsense. That’s all I’m willing to say on the matter. Just, ugh. No more.

Day 14: Sinéad Mulvey & Black Daisy – “Et Cetera” (Ireland 2009)

Here’s a song that holds a very unworthy distinction for Eurovision’s most distinguished country; “Et Cetera” is only one of two Irish songs to not be present on Saturday night, along with the abominable Dustin the Turkey. How the same country sent that garbage and this gem in back-to-back years is beyond me, but, sent it they did, and wow, was it underrated. Even if Sinéad was a tad ropey in the second spot of the running order, it by no means should have lost qualification to countries like Romania and Turkey. “Et Cetera” has that girl power, pop-rock attitude that Eurovision has forgone in favor of stereotypical, uninteresting drag queen-esque pop fodder (see Denmark 2007) or “OMG is this ‘The Playboy Show’?” levels of raunch (see Ukraine 2009). One of my personal favorites from that year.

Day 15: Bonnie Tyler – “Believe in Me” (UK 2013)

Despite my short time as a Eurovision fan, I know enough about things to understand how terrible the UK has been this millennium. Thankfully, they’ve gotten better with songs like Jade Ewen, Blue and this country cracker of a ballad by Bonnie Tyler. Out of all 39 songs for the Malmö stage, this sounds like the one that could be a big hit over on this side of the Atlantic. Bonnie’s raspy, deep voice really elevates this song above where it should be. Let’s hope it translates to a finish on the left-hand side of the board (It’s an odd-numbered year, so it should happen).

Day 16: El Sueño de Morfeo – “Contigo Hasta el Final” (Spain 2013)

Okay, so I had a long thing here about Soraya being my favorite Spanish entry as I was saving my actual favorite for another, more apt, category. However, during my final edit, where I find all the links for the videos after drafting my Microsoft Word document online to WordPress, I remembered this year’s Spanish entry! Based on the few songs I heard from ESDM pre-Eurovision, I was stoked about this. Then the four candidate songs were released and I was bummed. My favorite from the NF was “Atrévete,” but I’ve come to really like this one. It smoothly transitions from fragile ballad to a pop-rock love affair, all spiced up by some Celtic instruments. It’s certain to be lost on the night in Malmö, but I’m hoping for a good finish.

Day 17: Sébastien Tellier – “Divine” (France 2008)

Out of all the Big 4/5 countries, France has done the best job of picking quality, diverse acts each year. Between all six options, this quirky, French Pop number simply stole my heart. Sébastien knew that he was somewhat out of place in Eurovision and he used his three minutes to simply toy with the collective superfan around the world. Still enjoy this one, bearded backings and all.

Day 18: Lena – “Satellite” (Germany 2010)

Upon her return to the Eurovision stage in 2011, many people proclaimed that Lena had shed her bouncy, teeny-bopper personality that won the contest in Year Oslo for a darker persona for good. Well, she did, but I prefer her début entry (as did Europe) to the eventual 10th-placer of Düsseldorf, “Taken By a Stranger.” All this even though I am a fan of her newest works like “Stardust” and “Better News.” Regardless, Lena was a rightful favorite going into the 2010 contest and she delivered her offbeat pop number brilliantly. Also, the lyricist of “Satellite,” Julie Frost, is only one of two American Eurovision winners (the other being Katrina Leskanich of Katrina and the Waves who won for the UK in 1997)! Just a little bonus for everyone.

Day 19: Nina Zilli – “L’Amore È Femmina” (Italy 2012)

Challenging France for the title of “Best Quality of a Big 5 Country” is Italy, with three fantastic songs under its belt. While Marco Mengoni’s entry this year is my favorite from 25 percent of my homeland, Nina’s entry deserves some love, as it was the most stylish and fashionable song of 2012. The Amy Winehouse, big band vibe was as sensational as Nina’s performance. Shame it only finished 9th. Hoping hard for Marco to improve on that finish in Malmö.

Day 20: 3Js – “Never Alone” (The Netherlands 2011)

As 2011 was my first Eurovision, I have a softer spot than normal for my favorites of this year. While my number one was Iceland, this severely underrated gem of a pop-rock ballad was just so easy to listen to and enjoy. It also had some of the best lyrics of that year. Case in point, “Though the road is long, there’ll be golden gardens at the sweet end of your trail.” Exquisite. And they finished 43rd out of 43 songs that year. Dead last. Really? Even though I’m not a fan of the song, I strongly hope that Anouk can break this Dutch slump. They’ve had too much good in the past for it to continue.

Woo, I’m caught up! Now to catch up on sleep. Night all. Or… morning, whatever’s applicable for you. 🙂

Peace.

-Nick

Posted in 30 Day Eurovision Challenge, Eurovision 2013

What are your words?

If you love the word "words" as much as I do, please, don't hesitate to get my words delivered to your inbox. :)

Join 30 other followers

Library
Different Types of Words

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

That Screaming EMAC Kid

(a.k.a. nick's storytelling blog!)

Eurovision Lemurs

A Eurovision blog with an American perspective

BroBible

Products And Stories To Make Your Life More Chill

Uncover Travel

Uncover Travel | Bucket list adventures across the globe with vacation itineraries, sightseeing tours, hotel and restaurant recommendations.

